Bollettieri Academy

Often advertised as “Where Players Train”, and “World’s Toughest Playground”, my home of three years is entirely too humble. It cannot be described how different the lifestyle here is than a typical childhood upbringing. Everything is run around giving you the best possible opportunity to become a better tennis player. In a world of diversity, I found a place where I could narrow my focus and dedicate myself to something, without having to worry about living a balanced life.

Today was my last day of practice, and tomorrow will be my last day in Bradenton, Florida. After playing hundreds tournaments in a few dozen countries, most of which I traveled alone, I’m a different person. When three years ago I was a fairly competitive sixteen year old, now I’m regularly practicing with (and being humbled by) some of the best juniors in the world.

I left morning practice with some inspiring words from my group coach, and thanked my private coach this afternoon for everything he’s done for me. Every afternoon we hit, for two hours, all year. Only because four hours in the morning wasn’t enough. Only because mediocrity has never been enough. Only in a place where improvement is a way of life. Thanks for everything, Florida.

Leave a comment